Nowadays, we are hyper-connected because of social media platforms that are easily accessible on both computers and mobile devices. Practically all employees have access to the Internet as part of their job in some capacity, and must fight the urge to update or check their social media pages while working. This is because there are several ways that using social media at work can get you fired in California.
It is never pleasant when someone makes a statement about you that is not true. It can harm your reputation, cause others to treat you differently and it can affect your self-esteem. Sometimes false statements can be minor, but other false statements about you could have a significant impact on your life. This is particularly true when your employer is making them, which could rise to the level of defamation.
But can you sue your employer or former employer for defamation of character in California? This article will answer this question and others to help you understand your rights under California laws.
The answer to this question is actually fairly straightforward: Restrictive covenants have been illegal in the Golden State for nearly a century and a half, and they will probably remain illegal for at least the next century and a half.
It all goes back to Section 16600 of the Business and Professions Code, which states that “Every contract by which anyone is restrained from engaging in a lawful profession, trade or business of any kind is to that extent void.” With words like every and anyone, the measure is extremely broad and may even swallow up some well-settled common law exceptions that are more fully discussed below.
To justify this blanket ban, the statement of purpose section states that “The interests of the employee in his own mobility and betterment are deemed paramount to the competitive business interests of employers.” In short, California did not get its reputation as one of the most employee-friendly at-will employment states in the country through smoke and mirrors; instead, that label is based on laws like Section 16600.
On July 1 2016, the Los Angeles minimum wage increased to $10.50 per hour and will continue to rise until it reaches $15 by 2020.
It is important for workers in Los Angeles to understand what the new minimum wage ordinance entails so they can ensure that their employers are not violating minimum wage laws. This article will answer commonly asked questions about the new Los Angeles minimum wage increase and what you can do if you employer fails to pay you the required minimum wage.
According to a recent survey, the Golden State is the best place in the nation to work while raising a family.
The National Partnership for Women & Families graded each state, using the 1993 Family Medical Leave Act (FMLA) as a benchmark. California was one of the only jurisdictions to score an “A” in all four categories – workplace protections for pregnant and nursing mothers, paid medical leave, paid sick days, and pregnancy accommodations. California was also the only state to move up from “Expecting Better” to “A”, leading NPFW Senior Counsel Sarah Fleisch-Fink to remark that the Golden State “simply has the most protections in place for new and expecting parents of all 50 states and the District of Columbia.”
Probably not coincidentally, eleven of the twelve failing states had anti-union right-to-work laws. But what are the California laws that protect working parents, and what do they mean for you?
AB 1890 is a pending bill that would offer more equal pay opportunities to private sector employees in California. The bill would do this by requiring California contractors that employ 100 or more workers to submit pay equity reports on an annual basis, detailing total compensation earned by every employee, with gender, race and job category clearly defined.
This pending fair pay law follows the California Fair Pay Act which went into effect in January 2016.
Recently, a bill in the California legislature that would increase the period that the state requires teachers to serve before obtaining tenure failed to attract enough support to become law. Typically, once teachers obtain tenure, it can be difficult to fire them – and it can cost a school district tens of thousands of dollars. This must mean that teaching positions are so hard to take away that educators can rest easy, right?
Not necessarily. California teachers can still get fired. And here are just some of the reasons why they can, and do.
The California Fair Employment and Housing Council is considering a new rule that limits the use of criminal history in pre-employment background checks. The rule would prohibit employers from using criminal history when considering applicants for employment, except under narrow conditions. The Council would put the rule into effect under its authority to enforce the California Fair Employment and Housing Act (FEHA).
California labor laws are relatively generous compared to federal laws and those of many other states.
In order to benefit from your employee rights under California meal and rest break laws, it’s important to be aware of just what these rules and regulations mean for you.
A workplace can certainly be a dangerous place. In fact, over 11,500 workers’ compensation claims have already been filed in California so far this year, and millions are filed across the nation every year. While many workplace accidents and injuries are covered by your employer’s workers’ compensation insurance, you may be wondering if an injury could require you to file a personal injury lawsuit.
But can you even sue your employer for a workplace injury in California? This article will answer this question and others to help you understand your rights under both Federal and California laws.